• Home
  • »
  • Our Kosher Kitchen

Our Kosher Kitchen

TUC operates a kosher kitchen certifiedby the Orthodox Union (OU) and by Rabbi Aharon Simkin. 

The Hebrew word kosher means "fit." The kosher laws define the foods that are fit for consumption for a Jew. Throughout the 4000-year history of Jews, the observance of kosher has been a hallmark of Jewish identity.   To the Jew, holiness is not confined to holy places and times outside the everyday; rather, life in its totality is a sacred endeavor. Even the seemingly mundane activity of eating is a G-dly act and a uniquely Jewish experience.

The meats Chef Nottie serves are Glatt kosher, which means that they must come from a kosher  animal and be slaughtered in a kosher way. For meat to be Glatt kosher, in addition to the two above conditions, the meat must also come from an animal with adhesion-free or smooth lungs. 

Dairy meals that are served are stamchalav. Milk or dairy products are referred to as ChalavYisrael (Israel Milk) if they were produced under constant rabbinical supervision from milking through packaging. 

Milk from a kosher animal is kosher. Jewish supervision of the milk production process is the best way to ensure that milk will come from a kosher animal. Rabbinical authorities, in the Shulchan Aruch (YorehDe’ah 115:1), decided that Jews should only consume milk produced under Jewish supervision, which is known as Chalav Yisrael.

Separating Milk & Dairy

Meat and milk are never combined. Separate utensils are used for each, and a waiting period  is observed between eating them. Waiting  periods can be a half-hour to six-hours depending on what was eaten.

There must be at least one hour between the service of dairy and meat meals.  Therefore, if there is a breakfast with dairy items, any unused food, utensils, and tablecloths must be picked up at least one hour before the start of the lunch where meat items are served.

Kosher foods are thus divided into three categories:

Meat includes the meat or bones of mammals and fowl, soups or gravies made with them, and any food containing even a small quantity of the above.

Dairy includes the milk of any kosher animal, all milk products made with it (cream, butter, cheese, etc.), and any food containing even a small quantity of the above.

Pareve foods are neither "meat" nor "dairy." Eggs are pareve, as are all fruits, vegetables and grains. Pareve foods can be mixed with and eaten together with either meat or dairy.

Meat and dairy foods may not be eaten at the same meal, even if they are in separate dishes and even if the waiting time elapses.

What are Jewish Dietary Laws?

A person keeps kosher if he or she follows Jewish Dietary Laws. Jewish Dietary Laws are derived from Biblical laws and rabbinical extensions.

Basically, Jewish Dietary Laws say:

  • Certain animals may not be eaten at all. Only animals that are ruminant (chew its cud) and have split hooves may be eaten.
  • Of the animals that may be eaten, the birds and mammals must be slaughtered in accordance with Jewish law.
  • Certain parts of permitted animals may not be eaten.
  • All blood must be drained from the meat or broiled out of it before it is eaten.
  • Meat (the flesh of birds and mammals) cannot be eaten with dairy.
  • Eggs, fruits, vegetables and grains are considered pareve, and can be eaten with either meat or dairy. Fish is also considered pareve, but some kosher observant Jews do not eat fish with meat.
  • Utensils that have come into contact with meat (while hot) may not be used with dairy, and vice versa. Utensils that have come into contact with non-kosher food (while hot) may not be used with kosher food.
  • Grape products made by non-Jews may not be eaten. 

Guide to Kosher Symbols:

The "kosherness" of a food is indicated by a symbol printed on the food package. Each symbol represents a particular agency's certification that the food has been processed in accordance with Jewish Dietary Laws. 

Kosher SymbolsCommon Kosher Symbols Found on the food products in our kosher kitchen and in our vending machines. 

Founded in 1898, The Orthodox Union (OU) is one of the oldest and largest Orthodox Jewish organizations in America.  The OU hechsher's simple logo of an “O” surrounding a "U" is cited as the most recognizable kosher symbol in the world. It appears on over 800,000 products, produced, per the OU, "in over 6,000 plants located in 92 countries..." To maintain this deep market reach, the OU employs some 600 Rabbinic Field Representatives, who travel to food production facilities around the world, inspect equipment and ingredients, and supervise manufacturing processes to ensure they adhere to strict kosher standards.

Menu Icon

For personal assistance and information, please contact us at (707) 638-5505.